Connect with us


APC fixes another NEC meeting, may extend Buni-led caretaker committee’s tenure



The APC will hold another emergency NEC meeting five after the dismissal of former chairman, Adams Oshiomhole.

Nigeria’s ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) has scheduled December 8 for its National Executive Committee (NEC).

This is coming five months after Adams Oshiomhole-led National Working Committee (NWC) was controversially sacked and replaced amidst the crisis rocking the party.

That resolution was reached at the last emergency NEC meeting attended by President Muhammadu Buhari, APC state governors and other key members in June 2020, where the party appointed the Yobe state governor, Mala Buni, to lead its 13-member caretaker committee.

Buni-led committee was not only tasked to pacify warring factions in the party but to conduct a national convention to elect new leadership for the party within six months.

The six month window given to the committee will tentatively end by December 2020 and TIMELY POST learnt no convention will hold before that time. Instead, more time will be given to the caretaker committee to conduct the convention where new national leaders of the party will be elected.

Since its inauguration, the APC caretaker committee has arguably delivered on some of its mandate by dousing the fierce polarization among its members in states like Ondo and Imo.

While many linked the party’s heavy defeat in the last governorship election in Edo State to the division among its members in the state, others ascribed the APC victory in the recently concluded Ondo governorship election to the timely resolution of the crisis in the state chapter of the party.

In Edo State, Governor Godwin Obaseki was reelected on the platform of the opposition Peoples Democratic Party.

Obaseki’s disqualification from the APC governorship primary in the state was the last act that directly led to the sack of the Oshiomhole-led NWC in June this year. After his disqualification by the APC, the governor moved to the PDP where he contested and won his reelection.